My Duty?


Do I have a duty?
To what? to whom?
Who decides what my duty is
what I can and cannot do?

Follow the rules
obey the laws
salute the flag
observe the holidays
rituals, doctrines

Have I ever made
a conscious decision
about where I want
to commit my loyalty
obedience or am I swept
along the floods of demand?

Obedience is not commitment
fear of consequences is not loyalty
I choose to serve our Creator

to follow His direction to
always act with love
to do no harm
love one another
any dictate that tells me
I must act otherwise
is not my duty.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts if you wish.

