Priorities


I see not the roses fair
nor does their fragrance
lure me to them
as I rush by.

Star-flung skies
golden moons
call me to pause
as I hurry by
garden walk ways.

Where do I rush
that closes my senses
to a world of wonder?
What could be more important
than the jeweled humming bird
spreading joy from flower to flower?

Perhaps I need to reconsider
my priorities that keep
in the sounds of glee from me
as children run and play
on a summer day.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Priorities

  1. Rushing through something as “Basic” as nature is sometimes a moment lost.

    Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

