1000 Reasons To Be Grateful

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

March 17, 2017
I am starting a daily gratitude list to help me remember this prayer: “Dear God, May we always be grateful.”

Truly gratitude is a transformer in our lives. The more I cultivate it, the more joy and serenity I find in my life. Please feel free to add to this list in the comment section…or start your own gratitude list.

1. fresh breezes smelling of loamy ground after a gentle rain
2. little girl giggles that remind me to smile
3. sweet smell of puppies
4. ants marching in a row carrying leaves above their heads
5. raindrops that wash away tears
6. lilacs in the wind
7. friends who make me laugh
8. sweet potato pie with a hint of lemon
9. old men with hairy ears
10. red berries hidden beneath shiny green leaves
11. sweet memories of days gone by
12. mushroom prints that I make during rainy season
13. friends who call just to see how I am
14. walks in the floresta
15. page-turner books cozy quilt on a cold night
16. hic-ups from laughter
17. warm feet next to my cold feet
18. snooze alarms on cold mornings
19. spring water from a house faucet
20. little girls doing cartwheels
21. tadpoles changing
22. rain while the sun is shining
23. walking the beach at sunset
24. Grandmother’s pecan pie
25. books with woman heroes
26. blowing soap bubbles
27. coloring with my grandchildren
28. silly songs I sing for the children
29. birds taking baths in puddles
30. good books with sequels
31. reunions with old friends
32. poetry that lifts my soul
33. fragrance of fresh cut grass
34. grandmother’s rocking chair
35. kitty purrs
36. car with good gas mileage
37. spring tulips dotting my heart with color
38. socially acceptable burps and farts
39. belly laughter
40. old age’s patience
41. summer storm that cools the air
42. tea made from mint and lemon grass in the garden
43. people who read my poetry and leave me sweet notes
44. friends who see past my faults
45. clouds stripped with rainbows
46. God’s grace sprinkled throughout my life
47. sweet moments cuddled with my dog before I start my day
48. hearty soup on a winter night
49. images found in burning wood
50. the ability to laugh at my shortcomings
50. the ability to laugh at my shortcomings
51. frogs croaking making night music
52. spring water straight from the ground
53. story time with grandchildren
54. rocking chairs keeping time to our stories
55. tea made with lemon grass from the garden
56. baby’s first tooth
57. tiger eye marble
58. the chance to say “I’m sorry”
59. toddler’s delight in his rocking horse
60. mouse carrying her babies to safety
61. tiny humming bird nest
62. sleep over parties
63. giggles all night
64. roasting marsh mellows over a fire
65. combined nursing homes and kids day care
66. being blessed by a beggar
67. short sermons
68. emerging butterfly
69. large print books
70. young people offering seats to elderly
71. falling stars
72. church bells
73. concerts in the park
74. little girl ballerinas
75. boys with frogs in their pockets
76. white pebbles with silver glitter
77. jazz under the stars
78. singing in the shower
79. cold dark water creeks
80. cane fishing poles
81. going back to bed for a few minutes
82. licking beaters with chocolate icing
83. whispering secrets to a best friend
84. pajama parties
85. able to laugh at myself
86. full moon splendor
87. falling stars
88. other people’s babies
89. playing piano in church
90. whistling a happy tune
91. coffee at sunrise
92. giraffes and avocado seeds
93. rosy cheeks in the winter
94. frosting covered beaters
95. hand written letters
96. meeting people around the world
97. stories with happy endings
98. early morning sunbeams
99. beach breezes
100. puppies chasing soap bubbles

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 1000 Reasons To Be Grateful

  1. chris jensen says:

    Reblogged this on crjen1958 and commented:
    Life within all it’s surprises!

    Like

  2. chris jensen says:

    Sweet comments, upon a post liked!

    hugs chris

    Like

  3. JanBeek says:

    I have been writing daily in a Gratitude Journal for more than a decade. I begin each day thanking God for the love, joy, and peace that are mine, and I ask the Lord to help me with the other “fruits of the Spirit” that don’t come so naturally: patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. I write each day at least 5 things for which I am grateful and I ask the Holy Spirit to walk with me helping me live humbly with an attitude of gratitude all day long – and a response of generosity. Often I read this date’s entry from a decade ago and remind myself about those items/attitudes/blessings that were in my prayers “way back then.” It’s a great way to stay real and to remember to thank God for all those answered prayers!

    Like

  4. What an intriguing idea. It is so hard to remember the so called smaller things by which we are blessed. Today I went out into the yard and uncovered some of the hay I had mulched with last fall and I was so thrilled to see the tulips up in droves (I think droves are for cattle, aren’t they)? Oh well. And that immediately took me to being thankful that most of the yard and garden area are free of mud. It seems here it has been a long winter, longer that we usually have (we had snow two days last week) and I love the snow and the winter scenes, but I am thankful for the changes of season. It brings new light and life, renewed energy and it brings interesting an nice posts from friends like you. lol

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      I can promise you that if you start a list like this, that gratitude with be a constant state of being. I kept a gratitude journal for a long time and it changed the way I saw the world. I decided to start this list as a “refresher course.” hugs, pat

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts if you wish.

