The Sacred Now

The supreme gift
God Himself formed
in a moment
and I miss it
again and again
my shoes pinching my toes
as I run faster and
faster looking for what
I already have.

I need to throw off my shoes
feel my toes sink
into the sacred earth
shake dew drops from
feet washed in grass
wet with morn.

Here is the only place
I can love God
here, now
the sacred place
where God patiently
waits for me
to stop chasing my tail
to sin in quiet expectation
to be in the holy now.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sacred Now

  1. chris jensen says:

    Always about god…

    Did i see a type-oooo?

    hugs chris

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts if you wish.

