Illusion of Sorrow

My heart gains another
pound of sorrow
while the flesh
on my bones
shrivels away.

How can this
illusion of sorrow
weigh so much?
Why do I hold on
to the anchor
of yesterdays?

I know the clouds
are movable
magic carpets
that can carry me
into the Great Beyond
if only I am willing
to sit upon their splendor
and let go of
what might have been
but never was.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Illusion of Sorrow

  1. Oh yes Pat I feel that too. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts if you wish.

