Same Fork in the Road

Am I a marionette
hunched over hoping
someone will not pull a string
of pain or desolation?

Tarnished dreams march
across a life filled
with too many days
of being the martyred victim
instead of the puppet master
passing the same fork in the road
again and again
always taking the wrong one.

I call myself on the telephone
hearing only the mechanical
voice saying I am not there
well, where am I if not there
and not here
never realizing that answering
that question guides me
to the other side of
the fork in the road.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts if you wish.

