Relief


Mossy bank of a gurgling brook
I lie in contentment and contemplation
floresta scents and sounds surround me
sunlight dapples my skin cooled by breezes
passing through arms of Standing Tall Mothers.

Trips to cities are getting harder to bear
No more can I endure the cacophony and heat.
I hurry home and seek relief in the
floresta shade where nature heals
bruises of the city, and my soul
regains its serenity.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Relief

  1. When I visited Japan I visited a temple that was a cave where it is said a Japanese Goddess lives. This cave is next to a shallow running river just like this photo and people build a pile of stones and pebble one on top of the other each pebble or stone signify s one is a person dream.

    Like

  2. trisha says:

    sounds so much like me. 🙂

    i only wish my retreat was somewhere on a river bank too, calm, secluded, peaceful. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: May 14th: Relief Responses « Verse in a Nutshell

  4. lolamouse says:

    I am with you on this one! The noise and urgency and throngs of people in the city drive me to distraction. I call it stimulus overload and I crave the quiet and soothing sounds of nature.

    Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

