Just Be Calm

1496595_629731913728561_1848787736_o

Calmness comes, not from a pill.
True serenity is a soul well healed.
Forgiveness and gratitude pave the way.
Calmness comes not from a pill.
Let go of judgement.
Have no opinion on what doesn’t concern you.
Calmness comes, not from a pill.
True serenity is a soul well healed.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Just Be Calm

  1. Pingback: Basta Ter Calma | Fonte de Inspiração

  2. vixstar1314 says:

    Reblogged this on Blog-a-tastic.

    Like

  3. sewsteph says:

    I love this. It reminds me of the many anti anxiety and anti depressant i was given to help with my illness. None of them worked and some had side effects that landed me in hospital. I stopped trying to find a light through these pills. It didn’t work for me. What has helped over the last year was trying to find a meaning. Trying to forgive and move on from past experiences. Trying to train my mind to cope. Finding bits of happiness that would help me survive. Its working so far. So for me, my calmness comes, not from a pill.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pat Cegan says:

      I honor you for your courage. Forgiveness is paramount. We can not move forward spiritually until we let go of the past, no matter how terrible it was. Gratitude for even the smallest things is the next key. Happiness is found in the little every day joys and when we are grateful and pay attention, our lives are full of these little gifts that brighten our day. Some one very wise told me, “Pat, do not let anyone steal your joy.” That is my mantra these days. Big hugs, sounds like you are walking the path with great dignity, pat

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really liked your statement that ” true serenity is a soul well healed.” Wonderful post as usual. Hugs, Barbara

    Like

  5. Kim13 says:

    Beautiful and timely…as always…thanks Pat!

    Like

  6. Reblogged this on Through the Fog poetry and commented:
    This resonates so strongly with me… 🙂

    Like

  7. juliemontgommerynews says:

    Is it ok to have a good time simply, or is that a form of dissipation?

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      Our little newspaper where I grew up always ended their review of local events with: And a good time was had by all!
      Seems like a good definition of fun…harmless enjoyment enjoyed by all. Seems to me that God wants us to be happy. He surely made a beautiful world for us to enjoy so can not imagine that He would then want us to be unhappy. Each of us has our own idea of what makes us happy, so just figure it out, then do it! hugs, pat

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Kangee says:

    It’s difficult to enter a state of serenity, what worked most for me is to focus on the now, the current moment. Usually the past or future makes us stress and worry too much, if one just focuses on the now, you’ll feel more calm and things seem less of a challenge. You come closer to your goal step by step.

    Like

  9. poetslave says:

    Hello Pat. Is that a pun on well-heeled? Sorry though, cause I dig the sense of the poem.

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      Thanks for the laugh. There certainly was a time when well-healed was my primary focus. I am, or was, the original Material Girl. Ironic that STUFF is no longer of interest to me. hugs, pat

      Liked by 1 person

      • poetslave says:

        I thought the original was: “Some boys kiss me, some boys hug me
        I think they’re O.K.
        If they don’t give me proper credit
        I just walk away”
        Oooooh, dear Pat, you missed-out on anti-fracking campaigns. As an activist you get as much butt as possible and make banners. I think the Original Material girl missed that one. Mind you, they don’t shave either and do ‘Introductory meetings’ as ‘ Ways to create the atmosphere necessary for ‘Introductory meetings'”
        Allow myself to introduce myself.
        Lots of hugs Pat, you’re a genius.

        Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

