Elephant’s Tale

1005433_3248352863664_648523200_n

The more I learn
the less I know
for all opens doors
to that which I’ve
never considered.

We are ants on the
tail of the elephant
thinking we know
the entirety of
what we see.

Perhaps I will quit
learning before I
become irrevocably
ignorant of what
life is really about.

Yet more and more
I want to know
who I really am,
why I am here,
what purpose has
my life, for this
I must seek
and risk knowing
less and less.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Elephant’s Tale

  1. His understanding of the responsibility of knowledge is so true…and rare. There is a fine line between knowing, and being opinionated!!

    Like

  2. ‘Ants on the tail of an elephant’ I like that phrase, and so true! 🙂 We like to think we know quite a bit, but I think the older we get the less we find we know. But maybe that’s not so bad, because at least it shows we are learning what we thought we knew is not so. That in itself is an education – so maybe we have learnt more than we realise! 😉

    Like

  3. notmhs says:

    Reblogged this on Whimsy Plogging and commented:
    Such a lovely poem,so calming in its thoughts.

    Like

  4. notmhs says:

    just a lovely thoughtful poem; one to make you really consider life. Thank You

    Like

  5. ambroseanthonythompson says:

    That photo makes my spine tingle with pleasure vertigo.

    Like

  6. How true it is that the more we seek knowledge, the more it eludes us. But as I grow in faith, the less I realize I need to know. I am learning to relax into life and allow it to flow in and through me.
    Beautiful, thought provoking poem. I enjoyed beginning my day with it in mind. Thank you 😉

    Like

  7. Kim13 says:

    Reblogged this on Quiet Desperation and commented:
    Exactly!

    Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

