Our Mission

I hear people say, “I don’t know
what my mission in life is.” We
look at people like Mother Teresa
and Gandhi and feel that somehow we
don’t measure up and never could.

How does one discover a mission?
First, what is a mission? Saving
the world? Being a great healer,
spiritual leader, guru, etc.?

Perhaps our mission is much
simpler. The first thing we might
want to know is, “Who am I and
why do I exist?” “Ugh! that is
even harder,” you cry.

Ok, back to the sandbox. Let’s
make it child simple. I am here
because I am. Life is not about
fulfilling a mission. Life is
about living your life in such
a way that when it is time to
leave, you feel you’ve used your time
well, enjoyed your life, helped some
others, and left the world a bit
better for having been here.

Do you suppose life could be this
simple? Be happy, enjoy each day,
be loving to others. Try it and see.
Of course simple is not necessarily
the same as easy. :-)

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Our Mission

  1. ROAS says:

    I have been on a number or trips to find my true purpose. Sometimes i thought i was born to save the world, then i realized i was just crazy. Now i think it’s living life as it is and making the most of it. Don’t focus on bad things and focus only on good things. Be helpful and laziness is the cause of all things that don’t happen.

  2. The concept that we are all interconnected and that God is in all sentient beings.

  3. Ganesh says:

    Reblogged this on Known is a drop, Unknown is an Ocean and commented:
    Excellent!

  4. Pink Ninjabi says:

    LOVE this post. It is a great reminder to live in the moment instead of worrying about what if and what was. Thank you so much for your effervescent poetry, a real gem.

    Pink.

  5. I love this simple prayer from a Course in Miracles, which helps one tap into the greatest potential within us, and turn our intention over to have divine interventions into our daily lives. “Where would you have me go? What would you have me do? What would you have me say? And, to whom?”

Share your thoughts if you wish.

