Be Kind to Me

Please be kind to me;
I ask for so little,
a smile, gentle word,
heartfelt hug. Can
you spare a dime, mister?

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Be Kind to Me

  1. Is a dime what will help this man? Perhaps. I doubt it though. Ture compassion is seeing what you can give to this man to help him change his situation. A dime will not do that. Nor will a crisp new fifty.

    I wonder, would a sandwich and an ear make any difference. Once, probably not. But for some of us he is on the way to work. Some of us see him everyday. Would a sandwich and an ear make a difference everyday, on your walk home from work? I don’t know. I have never tried it. I’m always fummbling for dimes…

    • Pat Cegan says:

      I, too, can not pass people who are so desperate. But I do know that the power of love is powerful beyond what we can imagine. It is important for each of us to help in whatever way we can. Certainly a loving gesture, a willingness to spend so time listening to a person, is a small gift we can easily give. Thank you for your thought provoking comments. hugs, pat

  2. lilly29 says:

    Wow. What an image….What happened? I know there is a story behind this photograph.

  3. A very powerful image, especially the expressions of the on-lookers

  4. intrepidtraveller says:

    Such a tragic image. :( And yet I guess it’s better for those kids to stop for a second, and look back for them to never look back at all.

  5. one of my favorite sayings: humankind, be both.

    • Pat Cegan says:

      I love that…humankind, be both. Thanks for sharing this. I had not heard it before. How little it takes for us to be kind, how often we fail to make the effort. Hugs, pat

Share your thoughts if you wish.

