Learning from Animals


How much animals can teach us,
if only we let go of feeling superior.
Our endless words, which often lack
thought and compassion, are no match
for the silent love the creatures
of the land, air, and sea show us
as they live their lives moment by moment
never rushing, worrying, overwhelmed.
Today I think I will be a bird, a
dolphin, a tiny rabbit.
Today, I will be free.

*********

http://promisingpoetsparkinglot.blogspot.com/

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Learning from Animals

  1. clariice says:

    I have always tried to put myselves in the shoes of animals and my imagination has never ceased.
    Great portrayal of their thoughts!

    Like

  2. This is so true. I love the idea you have in this poem and the rhythm matches the words quite well.

    Like

  3. Aakriti says:

    Awww….such an adorable picture and this is so true. Animals are way more compassionate than we are. Lovely words:) Dropping by from the poetry palace:)

    Like

  4. Renee says:

    Seems we are both Rally participants this week. Good to see you here and to read your wonderful writing.

    Like

  5. Caledoniapoems says:

    Agree! Great poem.

    Like

  6. poetryroad says:

    This was just so darn sweet!!!

    Like

  7. PAT!!!! hi honey!!! I was wondering why I hadn’t seen you in a while and then when I got here to read your entry to poets rally, it shows that I am not following you and I am certain that I was. 😦 So happy to run into you again! Miss you at Free Write Fridays! Hope to see more of you soon!

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/on-the-dock-where-summer-lied/

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      Kellie, I quit participating in the poetry groups for awhile because I did not have time to visit very many blogs. By the time I write and post all the poems, create the art that goes with them, and answer comments and visit those who visit me….I just do not have any more time. I also was getting backaches from sitting too long at the computer, so had to do less. In addition, I felt guilty that I did not visit as many blogs as the poetry groups requested. But I did post one this week. Unfortunately, I have been without an Internet connection so am behind on all of it. Anyway, glad you are here and I will visit you soon. hugs, pat

      Like

  8. God has given us our earth, we have to be careful with her. Animals are teaching us that. Love this poem.

    Namaste

    Like

  9. mbwilliams says:

    Well said, they teach us about living with their every moment

    Like

  10. Morning says:

    brilliant wonders.
    love it, you rock.

    Like

  11. davidtenn says:

    Today I will be me! Love David

    Like

  12. wordcoaster says:

    Read and shared 🙂

    Like

  13. zongrik says:

    a very good plea for going Vegan, especially the picture

    http://zongrik.wordpress.com/2011/12/09/nano-informatics/

    Like

  14. Humans are complicated beings. We were made by God to be a little lower than the angels and over the land and the creatures of earth.

    Hebrews 2:6-8 says:
    “What is man that you are mindful of him,
    the son of man that you care for him?
    You made him a little lower than the angels;
    you crowned him with glory and honor
    and put everything under his feet.”

    Unfortunately, sometimes the animals do show more love, compassion, and wisdom than man.
    Connie

    Like

  15. tinkwelborn says:

    such wisdom! and what an accompanying photo!

    what can I say? I can’t argue one iota with this piece.

    good job!

    Like

  16. leah J. Lynn says:

    Awww, so cute what a thoughtful poem.

    Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

