Friend


Who are our friends?
What makes someone a friend?
The idea of having, or
being a friend needs careful
thought. Do I allow friends
into my life, or push them away?
What constitutes a friendship?
I look at the people whom I
consider friends. We don’t always
spend lots of time together,
but instantly connect when we do.

I love friends who make me
laugh–laughter from the belly
that leaves us knee-slapping
and bright-eyed. One that I
count as a friend makes me
feel inspired, loved, happy
to be with them.

At the same time, a friend
helps me to look at my life
with care, to see when I am
being self-deceptive.

Am I a good friend?
Dependable, loving without
conditions, loyal? I used
to think only long-term
friendships were true, but now
I know that we can share our path
with another, then take separate forks
in the road, knowing that our
destination is the same, and
we will meet again.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friend

  1. Well written dear Pat.
    You are a great friend!!!

  2. davidtenn says:

    Wise words Pat, love the pic too. Love David

Share your thoughts if you wish.

