Live by Dying

I am walking toward my death.
The path of dying teaches me
about living. Choosing to die
gives me total control of living.
There is a peace that comes
with the choice to die;
another paradox of life.

There is one who wants
to live, who does not understand
my choice to die, but she
loves me enough to say, “Go
in peace, may my love shine a
light on your path. I will
meet you at our final destination
though we travel different roads.”

***************************************

I dedicate this poem to Dana who is teaching me another way to view living.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Live by Dying

  1. dilipnaidu says:

    Very touching words that bring out the essence of life! Thanks for sharing!

    Regards.

  2. truthspokeinwhispers says:

    I have no words. Except, It’s lovely.

  3. Tears are flowing down my face Pat and Dana,
    but they are tears of love, understanding and peace.
    Thank you to both of you.

Share your thoughts if you wish.

