The Power of Priorities


How often we live our lives
without thought, moving
from one activity to another
without considering what is
important to us, letting
life’s demands
set our priorities.

If asked what is important,
we carelessly reply, “Why, family,
work, (and perhaps) God,”
without any specific plan
as how to establish our priorities.

I think about what I truly
want in my life and what
I am or am not doing
to fulfill those priorities.

I want to be closer
to my family, but did
I stop to really listen when
my child wanted to tell me
about his school day,
or did I continue what
I was doing and only give
him part of my attention?

Did I call or visit
my aunt who has recently
lost her husband,
or procrastinate because
I knew I would feel sad?

These small moments of caring
are what establishes our priorities.
I say that I want Spirit
to be a priority, but did I pray,
or sit quietly allowing God
to speak for me?

Do I live fully this beautiful life,
savoring the glittering dew drops
reflecting the crimson glow of sunrise?

Live your life in careful awareness.
Know what is truly important to you.
Carefully establish your priorities,
each day doing what you can
to fulfill your dreams and destiny.

******************************

Submitted 2/28/2001 to Potluck Poetry

http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Power of Priorities

  1. Kavita says:

    That’s really a very beautiful message in there, Pat… something which we should all consider… We talk about priorities all the time, without really doing any justice to the word..

    Well written, my friend… I hope you are successful in setting right your priorities, and actually living by them…

    Best Wishes!!

    • Pat Cegan says:

      Well, it has taken me a long life time, but yes, I am sure of my priorities and do live them. What a difference it has made in my life. Sometimes I get sidetracked but not very often any more. Thanks for your comments and visit. Hugs, pat

  2. Another one that I related to, Pat. Very introspective.

  3. Jingle says:

    divine words…

    we do need this very much.
    A++

  4. Sam says:

    Thanks for bringing the awareness… We always end up caught in life matters that we forget the priorities… hugs.

    • Pat Cegan says:

      Yes, I find myself at the end of the day thinking about what my priorities are versus my day’s activities. Some days I really fall short! Thanks for visiting! hugs, pat

  5. Sara says:

    How to prioritise…
    How to discern…
    Food for thought.

Share your thoughts if you wish.

