Just Like His Dad


He swaggers and sways
just like his dad
every gesture is the same.
I smile as I watch him
following his dad
and hope he copies
only that which is pure and true.

I say something harsh
and days later
my daughter says the same;
I cringe at her words
for I know where they came
and wish I could wipe them
from her lips and mine.

Be careful when you speak;
act with love every time
for our children learn
by what they hear and see.
Let’s give them our best
and help them become
all that they were meant to be.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Like His Dad

  1. Sumit Sarkar says:

    Children do things just like their parents…
    nice poem :)

  2. Sara says:

    Let’s give them our best and all our love.

Share your thoughts if you wish.

