Summer Storms

scared dog

Thunder
boom
dog hides beneath my chair
I pet and soothe him
softening his fear
of that which he
can not understand

When I am afraid
I have One who comforts
me if I but ask and
trust His loving embrace.
Summer storm soon passes
and the dog and I are
once again at peace
in the love that is
always ours to receive,
if we but open our
hearts to it.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Storms

  1. irinadim says:

    What a cute photo! Lovely words. My dog, a red heeler, an Australian cattle dog, would jump onto my lap and stay with me until it stopped thundering, and I had to be brave for his sake. :)

    Like

  2. Touching write. I love this.

    Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

