No More Striving

Those who know how to love
with a pure heart have put
aside the superfluous. Let
go of willful striving. You
do not need to fast, put
sacrifices on the altar,
weep in repentance. Learn
the lesson then lay it down.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No More Striving

  1. Pat Cegan says:

    It is ironic that life is really much more simple than we make it. Creator surrounded us with beauty and told us to play and have fun. He did not ask us to struggle so. Never saw a frog struggle, nor a bird. Nope, just us. But we have a choice. Me, I am going to spend more time in the sandbox. hugs and banana kisses coming your way, pat

    Like

    • Nina says:

      so you’re saying that it’s angst that separates us from the rest of the animals?

      Like

      • Pat Cegan says:

        no, I do not believe we are separate. The point of the poem, I believe, is that we make life much more complicated than it has to be. I see how, just in the 69 years I have been on earth, how out-of-control our world has become. If one looks at nature with its rhythms, we can see how orderly and beautiful life can be. I am making a concerted effort to simply my life and struggle with it…how absurd is this? hugs, pat

        Like

      • Nina says:

        I can’t seem to reply to your reply.

        but yes, humans are just one of many animals – which are just one kind of life form

        yeah, I keep having a line from Red Dwarf in my mind.

        “We don’t need poncy existentialists whining about the bleakness of the cosmos and the absurdity of existence”

        Like

  2. rococonnor says:

    oh the glorious timing… I had just formulated the same idea – refreshing my commitment to focussing on the positive… and I saw this bright jewel of a poem and the lovely colours of the bird. Thank you, it’s wonderful knowing you are in the world. Much love & light and a huge hug.

    Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

