Who Are Our Enemies?


To create a world based on love,
we must make peace with our enemies.
How does one do this if the enemy
continues to do harm? Certainly we
never have to accept unacceptable
behavior. That being said, time,
patience, and unconditional love
are the keys. First we must see
our enemies as the brothers and
sisters they, then love and protect
them as our own.

Daily communion with our Creator who
is willing to gently guide us, gives
us the strength and wisdom we need.
Pray for your enemies to find peace
and love in their hearts. Ask for
them to have all the good things
that you want for your own life.
Do this each day. Trust that your
faith and love is making a difference
in ways you may never know. Amen.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Who Are Our Enemies?

  1. chaconrafa says:

    Love, the world started with that in mind and in heart.
    How can anyone make peace with the devil; he is all about destruction and murder? Not even God can and will make peace with the greatest enemy.
    The enemy does more than just harm; he will destroy, kill you, and your family and anyone else who stand in the way; he is the enemy he will laugh at you while killing you. Forgive me but time, patience, and unconditional love hopefully will works for some “church people,” but not the enemy!
    It is good, pray to your creator, and pray for your enemies, but do it with your eyes open, “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:” and the devil uses men and women to do his bidding…
    Those callous killers who sit behind prison bars are, “roaring lions” pray for them but don’t let them out!
    It is one thing to be gathered inside of a building with people with similar beliefs and feel safe, but out in the world lives the enemy who is waiting for the right time to strike.
    Please forgive me, I mean no disrespect, I love reading your writings, and I shall continue to do so, but I had to reply to this piece because I believe in “to thine own self be true.”
    Peace and Blessing to thee my dear lady.

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      You are always welcome to express your opinion here, especially because you do it with loving tact. The forces of the Dark are indeed powerful, but I believe that Love is the basis of the Divine and that Love is always more powerful in the long run. That being said, I also agree with you that we need to be very careful as the world is not a safe place yet. I certainly have a body guard when I work in places where I know there is danger. I also ask for protection on a regular basis. But regarding enemies who are every day people around the world, I do believe that I need to forgive them for my own serenity. For me, that is usually by praying for us both. Thank you for your visit and your comments. Hugs, pat

      Like

  2. thank you so much for lighting my path……..I will try it next time,I think it should help me.

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      I find that it is really hard to stay angry with someone when I pray for them each day. If the person continues to act in an unacceptable way, I will choose to not interact with them, but still pray for them…as much for my own serenity as to help them. Hugs, pat

      Like

  3. I think the first step is to realise that we have NO enemies and the very term is superfluous. There is a line from Stargate which always stayed with me, which was “the only way to win the battle is to deny the war”.

    Like

  4. MindMindful says:

    Awesome picture — I am trying not to make an assumption about what happened next!!

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      Actually, I have several pictures of these two. The last one shows the mouse eating a piece of the leopard´s meat as the huge cat stood and watched. We are definite One and the animals teach us about that all the time. Hugs, pat

      Like

  5. your thoughts always pinched me to think on them,your way of looking at things shows you have so wide thinking that can contain whole universe in one……..but I don’t think I ever understand in my life to love my enemies………

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      Yes, you will understand the power of loving your enemies at some point. I discovered many years ago that when I was very angry with someone and could not seem to find peace about the situation, if I gave myself the task of praying for that person for 30 day, my anger and hurt soon disappeared. We must love our enemies even when we do not accept their current behavior. Praying for them each day helps us to live in love. That energy also goes out to them and affects them in ways that can be quite profound. It does not matter if we ever see the results as that is between the person and the Creator. BTW, my all time record for praying for an enemy before I finally was healed was TWO years! I learned a lot in that time and the ultimate message I received was to have compassion for her because she was definitely a tortured soul. After much healing, we became friends…a true miracle! I send you much love and light. Hugs, pat

      Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

