In My Lifetime–#13,14

As a child, I loved snuggling with my grandmother and listening to her stories. She had a smell about her that I still remember: age mixed with love. Now I am the grandmother telling my stories. Hope you enjoy them.
***********************************************

#13 Harmonicas and Ventriloquism


Harmonicas and ventriloquism fascinated me as a child. I spent endless hours boring my mother, who patiently watched me preform. Somehow, though, I never could master these two passions of mine. I suppose that two failures are not too bad a record in my life. Especially if you don’t add juggling, which also escaped me, though not from lack of effort on my part, or a mother’s loving reassurance that I was a child wonder!

 

**************
#12 Bowlegs Creek

I loved the hot summer days we spent diving in Bowlegs Creek whose sweet, pure water was the color of ice tea, delicious to young bodies sweaty from play.

“Watch me, Ma!” we’d shout as we performed some daring dive. Tangles of failing arms and sun browned legs churned the creek frightening away fish, snakes, and alligators. We played submarine and other fanciful games until our mothers called us to eat home-made ice cream beneath sprawling oaks.

A simple life, destroyed in just my life time, for the creek is now a sewer of pollution, children eat ice cream filled with chemicals, and the family outings are lost in the business of too much work, too many hours in front of the TV or computers.

It does not have to be this way, you know. Maybe our grandparents were right about “the good old days.”

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In My Lifetime–#13,14

  1. What a wonderful post! It brings back such lovely memories of my own attempts at all of these..unsuccessful attempts mid you. And alas our creeks where we played are also in a sad state!

    Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

