No Mirror


Tell me only what I want to hear;
agree with my every word. Tell me
I am special, not like others,
a rare flower among the weeds.

Put away that mirror you hold before
my face; that image can not be me.
Why do you say you love me,
then force me to look at
what I do not want to see?

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Mirror

  1. davidtenn says:

    We find this perspective continually when giving readings to those who think they want to know and can accept until we tell them something they do not want to hear. The truth will out! Love David

  2. Pat Cegan says:

    Interesting perspective, Renee, as we are always told that self-love is so critical. It is not always easy to love ourselves. Thanks for your visit and comment. Hugs, pat

  3. Renee Espriu says:

    Loving what we see in the mirror is only part of who we are and to really love ourselves a mirror isn’t needed at all but only to believe that we are important to others and our lives have meaning. Words to touch someones heart.

Share your thoughts if you wish.

