Alone

Hours of silence
but never silent;
inside, my mind connects
with others; outside
birds fill my heart with song.

The floresta is home
to my companions.
My horse greets me with
gentle neighs and
snorts of welcome.

My gate stands open
to visitors who stop
by for a quiet walk
in the floresta,
an hour of exchange
while being rocked
in colorful hammocks.

Alone–almost never,
and when I am, my
world is filled with life,
peace, and a knowing
that grants serenity.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Alone

  1. Fiducia says:

    ..with life, peace, and a knowing that grants serenity.

    What a phrase to end a theme on ‘Alone’….still mesmerized by the vision your verses engulfed me in..Love your work!

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      How can I not love someone who loves my work? :-)

      Would love to take full credit for these poems, but must defer to my Muse who only allows me to hold the pen. I am learning so much from them, too. Hugs, pat

      Like

  2. Sam says:

    This is amazing Pat… Being alone is not being lonely it is simply enjoying the peace and serenety… hugs, Samer.

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      So many people ask me how I can live alone on the edge of this great floresta. They are afraid…of being with their thoughts, of the wild animals, of no one loving them, of dying without finding out why they were born in the first place. The hours I have spent in silence have taught me so much. It was a hard lesson to learn how to be alone and silent as I am very gargious by nature. But the rewards are incredible. Thanks, as always, my dear friend, for your visit and comments. Hugs and monkey kisses! pat

      Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

