Boardwalks


I miss the boardwalks
stretching across wetlands,
swampy forests, and hard-to-reach nooks.
Sweet memories of slow, silent walks,
sightings of moss covered turtles,
alligators sunning themselves
on river banks,
blue herons, white cranes,
an owl asleep in a tree.

I’ve come to be grateful for a
life filled with tiny moments
of pleasure wrapped in the
present of an unexpected memory
adding a joy to my day.

***************************

Painting by Jeanne Pastor, titled “Waiting for Spring.”

***************************

Submitted to Magic in the Backyard: Free Write Friday

http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Boardwalks

  1. Jeanne says:

    thanks for enriching my artwork with shared memories.

    Like

  2. Aleza says:

    Your words were beautifully painted. Your memories are so different from mine. I didn’t even encounter a wetland until I was in my 20s! I can relate to tiny moments!!

    Like

  3. Becca Givens says:

    I see inspiration and creativity runs in the family … love your work and now your sister’s as well. bjs ~becca~

    http://beccagivens.wordpress.com/2011/02/06/thomas-hopkins-givens-md/

    Like

  4. Oh this is so vivid and beautiful. Almost dreamy pat. Thank u!

    Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

