Regrets


A simple turn of a screw
would tighten the hinge
of a cabinet door
that has sagged for many years.
Chipped cup with a broken handle
gathers dust in a corner,
a blouse I never liked
hangs limp and unused,
a board on the porch
needs to be replaced
but I step over it instead.

I’m in a relationship
that has not worked for years,
if love exists at all,
its tepid and sour;
we both know it over yet we stay
too afraid or indifferent to change.

My work is the same as its been for years,
yet somehow I long for more.
Then one day I look around me and see
how life is passing me by.
My mom died full of regrets
for things that she failed to do.
“Do let this happen to you”
was her final gift;
it was a wake-up call for me.

I walked away from that life
and started anew,
not one regret have I ever had.
Now I constantly assess
what I want from my life
and refuse to settle for less.

I live the dreams that I have
full of love and surprise,
I create my own realities.
Don’t wait so long
you forget how to savor each day,
and love with all of your heart;
each moment is gold,
a treasure, indeed;
take it now before it’s too late.

I dedicate this poem to my muse, Alix, who asked the right question.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Regrets

  1. becca says:

    This indeed was direct and divinely from the heart!!! Thank you for sharing!!

    Like

    • Pat Cegan says:

      Thank Alix, she asked my how I ended up in Brazil. She hasn’t known me long enough to experience my firehose answers, i.e., ask for a drink of water and get shot in the face with a firehose! But her poetry is inspiring me to write tiny poems/answers full of wisdom. I am in pre-kindergarden in this skill. love you, beautiful becca! hugs, pat

      Like

  2. Alix Moore says:

    Aren’t we all miracles? And what we can accomplish when we see this–no limits!
    Hmmm, which muse am I? Polyhymnia must be the closest, but I am not a Polly.
    I claim Pegasus, the winged mount of the muses. He I can be!
    Love and light,
    Alix

    Like

  3. ram0ram says:

    dear and divine…. turn and return to God ……everyone’s childhood friend

    Not twice this day, Inch time foot gem , This day will not come again, Each minute is worth a priceless gem.
    Zen master ” TAKUN ”

    happiness …… breath to breath , happiness……. thread to bread , happiness ……. eat to sleep , happiness ……work to worship …… happiness ……occupy the being , a to z of ”creative enlightenment”.

    distance……… has no meaning , meaning is , how you cover it…. discover smile to cover mile…..…….to milestone eternal…………… journey of creative enlightenment .
    love all…

    Like

Share your thoughts if you wish.

